South America is located primarily in the southern hemisphere. It is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean from the west, by the Atlantic Ocean from the east and north, by the Caribbean Sea from the northwest and connected with North America in the northeast part. An overland border between two continents stretches along the Panama-Colombian state boundary. In total, there are 12 independent countries and 3 dependent territories in South America.